RSS

I asked God for a husband…

15 Apr

I asked God for a husband who would be a spiritual leader
(frankly, “lead” meant “feed” — be my in-house pastor, always certain of God’s ways)

God gave me a husband who seeks Him with honest questions rather than easy answers,
that the legs of my faith would continue to grow strong — rather than weak from disuse.

I asked God for a man who would be ready to move at a moment’s notice,
following God into new adventures wherever He might lead.

God gave me a man with roots deep and strong, and a commitment to serve his community,
that I also could learn to let Christ’s light shine through me into the world around us.

I asked God for a husband with charisma
whom people would admire [read: “idolize”] and naturally follow.

God gave me a husband who is willing to admire others,
that I could grow into my own person and not always be in his shadow.

I asked for a man who knew the right things to say
in business, speaking from a stage, and in love.

God gave me a man whose honesty can make him fumble
whom I never have to question if his smooth words cover lies.

I never thought to ask God for a man who would not yell at me in anger
whose very quietness would force me to temper my own forceful language.

It never occurred to me to request a husband whose strength in logic would sometimes frustrate me,
but which I’d learn to appreciate for grounding my faith and alleviating fear.

I did not know the inestimable value of a husband who may not know what I need before I ask —
but who is humble and faithful to follow through when he understands.

I asked for the man I thought my world (my Christian world) admired,
whom I thought I needed in order to achieve the purposes God had for me.

God gave me a man who is teaching me what is worth admiring,
whom God is using to make me more like the daughter He wants me to be.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on April 15, 2011 in husband, Uncategorized

 

6 responses to “I asked God for a husband…

  1. T.W

    November 20, 2012 at 3:57 am

    Very interesting read which has ffostered the post for my blog today – please take a look http://wp.me/p2OT6T-g

     
  2. Julie S

    November 20, 2012 at 11:39 am

    Lovely. My husband is not at all quiet, etc., but I still totally get the heart of your post today.

     
  3. Natalie

    November 20, 2012 at 2:06 pm

    Poignant and beautifully written! “I never thought to ask God for a man who would not yell at me in anger whose very quietness would force me to temper my own forceful language” is one of my favorite lines. After having a first-hand experience with a man’s explosive anger this year, this topic of a tempered spirit has become a priority in prayer for me regarding my future spouse! Blessings to you:)

     
  4. http://yahoo.com

    February 9, 2013 at 2:57 pm

    I personally consider this particular post ,
    “I asked God for a husband Newlywed No Longer”, rather interesting and
    also the blog post was a wonderful read. Regards-Michel

     
  5. kingdomchick

    February 12, 2013 at 5:36 pm

    This is amazingly and beautifully written. God always provides for us in the areas that we need provision, even when we don’t think to ask Him.

     

Leave a Reply

 
